Order of Canada

Deadline: Ongoing

Level: Senior

Background: Canada

Cycle: Quarterly


Established in 1967 by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, the Order of Canada is the cornerstone of the Canadian Honours System, and recognizes outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation.
The Order recognizes people in all sectors of Canadian society. Their contributions are varied, yet they have all enriched the lives of others and made a difference to this country.

Eligibility Criteria:

All living Canadians are eligible for the Order of Canada, with the exception of federal and provincial politicians and judges while in office. Non-Canadians can be considered for “honorary” appointments if they have made a sustained and exceptional contribution to Canada.
Officers and Members may be promoted within the Order in recognition of new achievements that expand the reach or impact of their contribution to Canada. Nominations for promotion follow the same process as initial nominations.
If a candidate has been previously considered but not appointed to the Order of Canada, a new nomination can be brought forward five years after the last nomination. 

For More Information: http://www.gg.ca/document.aspx?id=14940