National Academy of Engineering (NAE) – Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ Prize

Deadline: April 1

Level: Early-career, Mid-career, Senior

Background: International

Cycle: Biennial


The Russ Prize recognizes an outstanding bioengineering achievement in widespread use that improves the human condition. This achievement should help the public better understand and appreciate the contributions of engineers to our health, well-being and quality of life. Examples of bioengineering include research, education, or product development in such areas as biomedical instrumentation, separation, and control systems; aerospace biomedical
engineering; diagnostic technologies; applied genetic engineering; pharmaceutical processing; prosthetic technologies; biomolecular engineering; medical engineering; and applied physiological systems. An auxiliary purpose of the Russ Prize is to encourage collaboration between the engineering and medical/biological professions to work closely together.

Awarded biennially (odd number years), the recipient receives a $500,000 cash award and a commemorative medallion.

Eligibility Criteria:

The prize may be awarded to an individual or a group of individuals contributing to the same achievement(s). The Russ Prize is not awarded posthumously. Recipients of the Charles Stark Draper Prize are not eligible for the Russ Prize. NAE members and non-members world-wide are eligible to receive the Russ Prize.

For More Information: