National Academy of Engineering (NAE) – Charles Stark Draper Prize

Deadline: April 1

Level: Mid-career, Senior

Background: International

Cycle: Biennial


It is a goal of the National Academy of Engineering to honor those who have contributed to the advancement of engineering and to improve public understanding of the importance of engineering and technology.

Recognized as one of the world’s preeminent awards for engineering achievement, the Charles Stark Draper Prize for Engineering honors an engineer whose accomplishment has significantly impacted society by improving the quality of life, providing the ability to live freely and comfortably, and/or permitting the access to information.

The Draper Prize is awarded biennially, the recipient receives a $500,000 cash award, and the prize recognizes achievements in all engineering disciplines.

Eligibility Criteria:

NAE members and non-members worldwide are eligible to receive the Draper Prize. There are no restrictions on who may nominate candidates for the Prize. Solicitations are sent to members and foreign members of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering, foreign engineering academies, and other organizations and persons from around the world.

The Draper Prize is awarded for a specific achievement or for a series of achievements in any engineering discipline, and may be awarded to an individual or a group of individuals contributing to the same achievement. Consideration will be given to achievements in all engineering disciplines. The Draper Prize is not awarded posthumously.

For More Information: