American Society of Mechanical Engineers – Ben C. Sparks Medal

Deadline: September 1

Level: Mid-career, Senior

Background: International

Cycle: Annual


The Ben C. Sparks Medal, established in 1990 for recognition of eminent service to mechanical engineering or engineering technology education through outstanding contributions that bring innovative, authentic, practice-based, engineering design/build experiences to undergraduate students. The award may be bestowed on an individual or collaborative team for excellence in curriculum implementation, teaching, academic/industry collaboration, or exemplary service to ASME student design-related programs.

Eligibility Criteria:

Candidates must have a record of accomplishment over an extended period of time; play a major role in fostering new, innovative applications and approaches to the teaching of mechanical engineering and/or engineering technology; or effectively inspire promising systemic change that would enhance the readiness of graduates to begin engineering practice in industry.

Recipient(s) must hold or have held academic appointments in departments that have in ABET-accredited (or substantially equivalent) degree programs or be engineer(s) in industry, government, or private practice who have made an exemplary contribution such degree programs.

For More Information: